Author Archives: Colin Summers

About Colin Summers

I am an architect, programmer, private pilot, husband and father. A couple of those I am good at.

SJPA HOLIDAY DINNER

Discover Friday Harbor’s early aviation history! Click Here to Pay for your Dinner Join your fellow San Juan pilots, aviation enthusiasts and families at the annual San Juan Pilots Assn. Christmas Banquet.  This year, the event will take place on … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Flying into Canada? Worry less about the ADS-B

Apparently Canada has decided they need to postpone their deadline for ADS-B compliance. Since quite a few of our members enjoy flying north of the border, they may wish to read the following article: https://www.avweb.com/aviation-news/canada-delays-ads-b-mandate/

Posted in News | Leave a comment

C182P Partnership Available

1976 Cessna 182P 1/3 Partnership available $25,000 Aircraft Specifications: Cessna Skylane 182P–Tail number:  N8485M–Serial Number: 18264623 Year built:  1976–Currently Hangared:  Friday Harbor, WA (hangared since 1976) Current Annual – complete maintenance records–Engine replacement fund in place New Avionics installed 2017: … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Drone Alert

Think one of those little plastic “drones” can’t do much damage to the airplane you fly?  Think again!  Watch the short video of an experiment conducted using a small commonly available UAV and the wing of a typical General Aviation … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Ultralight Pilots in the San Juans?

A question from one of our members: I recently bought an ultralight powered parachute. Do any members know of other ultralight owners or pilots in the San Juan Islands? Thanks. Tom White

Posted in Classifieds | Leave a comment

Loss of Control – May the Force(s) be With You

Exploring our prime task. Managing the forces of flight to maintain control of the aircraft. On Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 19:00 Eastern Daylight Time (16:00 PDT, 17:00 MDT, 18:00 CDT, 13:00 HST, 15:00 AKDT, 16:00 Arizona, 23:00 GMT) Select … Continue reading

Posted in Events | Leave a comment

Classified: Minivan Available

It’s a done deal. We bought a new minivan today, will be transferring the current van here on the island to BLI to become the new airport car, so the ’89 van at BLI is now surplus. We’ve been affectionately … Continue reading

Posted in Classifieds | Leave a comment

Lou Coleman Fund

Last week, our islands’ aviation family suffered a heartbreaking loss. SJPA Treasurer David King and Vice President Lou Coleman were aboard David’s Mooney when it suffered a fatal accident at Lopez Island Airport (for yet to be determined reasons). We … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

American Airlines Recruiting Pilots

American Airlines announced today a first-of-its-kind program designed to help future aviators receive the training, financing and mentoring opportunities they need to fly for the world’s largest airline.The American Airlines Cadet Academy will provide an opportunity for future pilots to … Continue reading

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Roche Harbor Landing Fees

This seems pretty important, over on “Roche Harbor Airport News,” they announced a new landing fee structure. Second, in more down-to-earth news (via David King, Roche Harbor Neighborhood Association Treasurer and pilot) there’s a new Roche Harbor Airport landing fee … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment