Puget Sound Microclimates Seminar 6/13 @ KPWT

VOT

SJPA Pilots, here’s a pertinent seminar on WX. I would like to attend this, VFR weather permitting. If you’re interested joining a group departing FHR at about 7:30 / 8:00 AM contact me.
Darryl Swenson
darrylswenson@gmail.com
(206) 999-8188

“Working our Microclimates for Safe Flight”
Making the best of your local flying weather, or, weather-wise, where’s the best place to go for lunch today?
Speaker: Ian McFall
Saturday, June 13, 2015 at 09:00
Location: KPWT / Bremerton National Airport
Conference Room in Main Terminal at the Bremerton National Airport

Ian will discuss topics such as:
1- Soundings, Adiabatic charts & Skew-T basics
2- Ceilings and tops (Cloud bases, type of cloud to expect and thickness of the layers aloft)
3- When will the fog dissipate?
4- Convection strength (how bumpy will it be?)
5- Precipitation (Will it rain or snow [or hail] enroute and when?)
6- Freezing levels and icing (am I likely to encounter icing enroute?)
7- Winds aloft (What is the optimum altitude to fly each segment. Places to avoid)

Details and registration:
http://www.faasafety.gov/SPANS/event_details.aspx?eid=62361

 

 

About Darryl Swenson

I am a private pilot and amateur photographer. I live in Friday Harbor, Washington. My airplane is a Flight Design CTLS and I keep it in a hangar in Friday Harbor. My flying has taken me up and down the West Coast USA. I am enchanted by the islands and mountains of the Pacific Northwest, and the allure of deserts and mountains of the Southwest keep drawing me back to the Four Corners area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

