Back Home in Friday Harbor!

Southern Utah in October is the best! The grueling part is getting back and forth.

I arrived back in FHR yesterday afternoon after an arduous two-day flight from Page AZ (KPGA). Dodging gusty winds and clouds through mountainous terrain gets pretty strenuous. Carrying oxygen helped. I made a few cautionary landings with unplanned overnights — including sleeping on a couch in a pilots’ lounge.

The map below is my route plotted with my Spot Satellite Locator — HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! You can see I flew through the Columbia River Gorge to get into Western Washington because the Cascades were typically obscured in clouds. I have made this trip several times over the last four years, and the hardest part is nearly always flying VFR back into Western Washington.

My compliments to the aviation community. People at airports were good-natured and helpful all along the route. FBOs were always welcoming. Flight Service (AKA 1-800-WX-BRIEF) and Air Traffic Control are AWESOME. I love my government.

Route from Boise to Friday Harbor.

Route from Boise to Friday Harbor.

Route from Page AZ to Boise.

Route from Page AZ to Boise.

About Darryl Swenson

I am a private pilot and amateur photographer. I live in Friday Harbor, Washington. My airplane is a Flight Design CTLS and I keep it in a hangar in Friday Harbor. My flying has taken me up and down the West Coast USA. I am enchanted by the islands and mountains of the Pacific Northwest, and the allure of deserts and mountains of the Southwest keep drawing me back to the Four Corners area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back Home in Friday Harbor!

  1. Carlo Franciosi says:

    Just in time for some great weather. Good to have you back. Carlo

  2. Bob Tauscher says:

    Darryl

    At the next EOM maybe you could talk about the protocol of flying the “gorge”. I too have been forced to do this on a couple of occasions. I think it is a beautiful flight.

    Your pictures and the blog are much appreciated.

    Bob T

Leave a Reply

